Volunteer Top 10s of 2017

Rick Albert – Host, Rick Around the World (in no order)

Souljah Fyah* – The Long Walk (Independent)
Elemotho – Beautiful World (ARC Music)
Sofia Rei – El Galivan (Independent)
Boogat* – San Cristobal Baile Inn (Maisonnette)
Lenka Lichtenberg* – Masaryk: Narodni Pisne (ARC Music)
Asiko Afrobeat Ensemble* – Winners Never Quit (Independent)
Pierre Kwenders* – Makanda (Bonsound)
Souljazz Orchestra* – Under Burning Skies (Do Right!)
Eliana Cuevas* – Golpes y Flores (Alma)
Meklit – When the People Move, the Music Moves Too (Six Degrees)

Vince Almond – Host, Blues, Boogie and Bop (in no order)

Steve Kozak Band* – It’s Time (Independent)
Harrison Kennedy* – Who U’ Tellin’? (Electro Fi Records)
Taj Mahal & Keb Mo – Tajmo (Concord Records)
Kim Wilson – Blues & Boogie Vol 1 (Severn)
Greaseland Allstars – Howlin’ At Greaseland (Westone Records)
Jack De Keyzer* – The Best Of Jack De Keyzer Vol 1 (Blue Star Records)
Samantha Fish – Belle Of The West (Ruf Records)
Elvin Bishop – Elvin Bishop’s Big Fun Trio (Alligator Records)
Monster Mike Welch and Mike Ledbetter – Right Place Right Time (Delta Groove Music)
Godboogie* – Play Music & Dance (Vizztone)

Jim Dupuis – Host, Jazz Notes

Top Instrumental Albums

1) Ingrid and Christine Jensen with Ben Monder* – Infinitude (Whirlwind)
2) Blue Note All-Stars – Our Point of View (Blue Note)
3) PJ Perry Quartet* – Alto Gusto (Cellar Live)
4) Prime Time Big Band* – Live at the Ironwood (Chronograph)
5) Louis Hayes – Serenade for Horace (Capitol)
6) Paul Tynan and Aaron Lington* – Bicoastal Collective Vol. 5 (OA2)
7) John Beasley – Monk’Estra Vol. 2 (Mack Avenue)
8) Cory Weeds and the Jeff Hamilton Trio* – Dreamsville (Cellar Live)
9) Christian McBride Big Band – Bringin’ In (Mack Avenue)
10) Felix Stussi* – Les Malcommodes Inventent (Effendi)

Top Vocal Albums

1 tie) Cecile McLorin-Salvant – Dreams and Daggers (Mack Avenue)
1 tie) Gregory Porter – Nat King Cole and Me (Blue Note)
3) Diana Krall – Turn Up the Quiet (Verve)
4) Bria Skonberg* – With a Twist (Okeh)
5) Johanna Sillanpaa* – From This Side (Chronograph)

Myles Gregory – Host, Broken Glass

Piss Test – LP2 (Dirt Cult Records)
Dad Thighs* – The Ghosts That I Fear (Old Press Records)
i hate sex* – World of Grief (Dog Knights Productions & Day Crush Recordings)
The Virus – System Failure (Evacuate Records)
Hot Water Music – Light It Up (Rise Records)
Xylitol – Is Toxic to Pigs? (Thrilling Living Records & Total Negativity Records)
Mental Distress – S/T (Crapoulet Records)
Grit – Diamond (Contraszt! Records)
First Blood – Rules (Pure Noise Records)
Stupid Stupid Henchmen – Chill Out and Die Later (Mustachioed Assassins FTW)

Lewis Jay – Host, Radio Schizo

Urchin – “Peace Sign” 7″ (Roachleg Records)
Tarantüla* – “Weird Tales Of Radiation And Hate” 7″ (Deranged Records)
Aggression Pact – “Instant Execution” 7″ (Painkiller Records)
Agari – “데모 2017″ Cassette (Self Released)
Police Control – “Sentimental” 7″ (Juvenile Delinquent Records)
Katastrof – “Sista Dagen” 7″ (Beach Impediment Records)
Freedom – “Never Had A Choice” 7″ (Triple B Records)
Extended Hell – “Extended Hell” 7″ (Brain Solvent Propaganda Records)
Sonic Order – “Sonic Order” 7″ (Doomtown Records)
Impalers – “Cellar Dweller” 12″ (Static Shock Records)

Steve Marlow – Host, Do Not Touch This Amp

1) The Horrors – V (Wolf Tone)
2) Woolworm* – Deserve to Die (Mint)
3) Whimm* – A Stare Ajar (Pleasance)
4) Beck – Colors (Capitol)
5) Gesture* – No Past, It Started All Over Again (Independent)
6) Future Islands – The Far Field (4AD)
7) Alvvays* – Antisocialites (Royal Mountain)
8) LCD Soundsystem – American Dream (DFA)
9) Protomartyr – Relatives in Descent (Domino)
10) Gun Control* – Volume 1 (Independent)

Dylan Olson – Host, Alternative Eye

1) Said the Whale – As Long As Your Eyes Are Wide (Hidden Pony
2) Empty Minds – 3377 (Independent)
3) DEKLEF – DEKLEF EP (Independent)
4) The Pack A.D.* – Dollhouse (Cadence)
5) Return for Refund* – Lift You Up (Independent)
6) Duotang* – New Occupation (Stomp)
7) All That Remains – Madness (Napalm)
8) The Andy Kaufmans* – Maggie (Independent)
9) Fleet Foxes – Crack-Up (Nonesuch)
10) Herb Dale* – All About the Song (Independent)

Richie Tronson – Host, This Microphone Smells!

1) Hollerado* – Born Yesterday (Royal Mountain)
2) K.Flay – Every Where Is Some Where (Interscope)
3) The Pack A.D.* – Dollhouse (Cadence)
4) Death from Above 1979 – Outrage! Is Now (Last Gang)
5) The Fast Romantics* –  American Love (Light Organ)
6) The New Haunts* – The New Haunts (Independent)
7) Sarah Jane Scouten* – When The Bloom Falls From The Rose (Light Organ)
8) IMUR* – Little Death (Independent)
9) Portugal, the Man – Woodstock (Atlantic)
10) Ashleigh Ball* – Gold in You (Independent)

Brant Zwicker – Host, Stormy Monday

1. Monster Mike Welch & Mike Ledbetter – Right Place, Right Time (Delta Groove Music)
2. Downchild* – Something I’ve Done (Linus Entertainment)
3. Southern Avenue – Southern Avenue (Stax Records)
4. Rick Estrin & the Nightcats – Groovin’ in Greaseland (Alligator Records)
5. Martin Goyette* – Big Beets (Ad Litteram)
6. Karen Lovely – Fish Outta Water (Independent)
7. Harrison Kennedy* – Who U Tellin’? (Electro-Fi Records)
8. Jason Buie* – Driftin’ Heart (Independent)
9. Samantha Fish – Chills & Fever (Ruf Records)
10. Jim Byrnes* – Long Hot Summer Days (Black Hen Music)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s